Mount Sinai

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Friday, April the 15th, 2011 was our trip to the blessed mountain called Sinai.   I just had an hour sleep due to excitement.   My sister and I, along with our real good friends were fetched by a clean and big tourist bus.  There were lots of fun filled activities with abundance of food on the bus.  I met good people from different parts of the world.
At first I had hesitations for the sunrise trekking because it was only the four of us who will trek for the sunrise since most did the sunset trekking.   We started to trek around 1:30 AM and I was surprised when there were lots of flashlights around from different tourist groups.
In the first few kilometers, I  palpitated and would like to give up, but when I saw lots of old people and even kids ahead of us I was humiliated that incited to continue.   So I kept on praying and thinking of positive thoughts which helped me reach the top.
There were small convenient stores owned by the Beduins, where buying goods will be of great help for them.   A camel ride costs around 85LE but I was scared to ride because it was dark and some camels were walking near the edge of the mountain.
 The 750 step staircase was visible with big rocks on the sides where you could sit, rest and mingle with different tourists.  When I reached the top, I felt so relieved but with mixed feelings of excitement and exhaustion.
On top of the mountain, there was a small chapel and there were Beduins selling hand-crafted products for souvenirs.  All the cameras were set and everyone was waiting for the sunrise.  There were flags from Columbia and Egypt which were raised with pride.  The Korean group sang hymns while others like our small group just prayed. The cold breeze and the friendly atmosphere made the experience phenomenal.
When we went down, someone told me that the mountain where Moses went was on the other mountain which was not on the mountain where we went.  Worst, it was believed by some group of people.    What the $7!”8:)049:!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Well, I’m still optimistic.  I’m so thankful and blessed to reach the top safely and have proven that I’m physically fit. 🙂

*****

free counters

Follow @tweetmarither

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hotshot bald cop
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 20:07:14

    Attention-grabbing views concerning that!

    Reply

  2. MARITHER
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 18:05:56

    Oh my! Just saw this comment of yours. My apologies. Well, I don’t know how to take that Mr. Ed Lauter. 😉 Thank you. All the best. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

