Boracay, The City of Pleasure

The first time I went to Boracay was during the 90’s with my sisters and cousins.   I commute with my sisters and male cousins.  The only public transportation available to go to Aklan from my mom’s province in Panay, Roxas City/Capiz was jeep.  We were with the few locals and Japanese tourist on the jeep.  It was a bumpy ride,  like having a sand storm because of the dust from the road.  I wished that the road would be developed.    While we were covering our face from the dust, the Japanese was enjoying the sandy storm which was quite freaky.

After hours of travel, we arrived in Aklan and took a boat to the Boracay island.  The sand was luminous whenever you step on it and it was magnificent at night.  The only famous party place was Bazura where there were only few guests.

Boracay was known to be the virgin island because of  its green mountains, powdery white sand, clear water where you can even see your feet and the fish that surround you, few cottages, only few areas have electricity, there were only few motorcycles which was the only transportation, and Club Panoly was the only hotel that you have to take the hotel’s private van to go to Bazura where the party is at night. I can’t forget the swing from the twin coconut trees facing the beach near Bazura, where  you can see  foreigners comfortable to go topless during their sun bathing because there were only few people around.  Fresh air, fresh food, fresh and clean water. It was truly a paradise.

Since we have a big family  and there were only few restaurants available and most were open in the afternoon and at night,  my cousins used to go to the market and cook our own food which was more practical, safe and healthy.

Year after year, I was amazed to see developments of the roads,  expansion of electricity, more markets, more restaurants, more bars, more cottages, more hotels, more tourists, more parties and more water activities.  But the catch are as follows: you can no longer enjoy swimming with a lot of fish near the shore, mountains were replaced by buildings,  instead of the native/locals earning from it, the capitalists and foreigners are now gaining much more from it.   I started to get worried of the drainage system, pollution in all areas (water, land & air), capitalism and exploitation.    I just wished for a development of the rocky and bumpy road but it seems a lot heard it and turned the virgin island to a city of pleasure.

It could have been better if it was preserved as a well managed National Park, maintaining its natural beauty and enriching the culture. Imagine if the government has full control of this and the money goes straight to the  preservation of  all the national parks, healthcare insurance for everyone, senior citizen and children?

free counters

Follow @tweetmarither

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Luca
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 13:30:34

    Right now it seems like Movable Type is the best blogging
    platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

    Reply

  2. adjustable dumbbell adjustable dumbbell sets
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 03:44:29

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an impatience over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

    Reply

  3. Email Console
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 04:34:48

    I’d like to find out more? I’d care to find
    out more details.

    Reply

  4. Terese
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 05:56:03

    It’s hard to find experienced people about this subject, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

    Reply

  5. Harriett
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 06:29:39

    Quality articles or reviews is the important to be a focus for the people to go to see the web site, that’s what this web site is providing.

    Reply

  6. simply click the next internet page
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 08:40:56

    Every weekend i used to go to see this web page, because i want enjoyment, as this this website conations
    really pleasant funny data too.

    Reply

  7. atlaslm.com
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 12:22:50

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d without a doubt donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this
    website with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

    Reply

  8. Storage Dayton
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 00:40:02

    Hello there! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when browsing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this issue.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. With thanks!

    Reply

  9. Mckinley
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 07:18:45

    Excellent weblog right here! Also your site
    a lot up very fast! What web host are you using?
    Can I get your associate hyperlink in your host?
    I want my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

    Reply

  10. http://www.internationalcommunity.dk/node/12576
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 07:19:10

    Hello there! This article couldn’t be written any better! Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept talking about this. I’ll send this post to him.
    Pretty sure he’ll have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

  11. http://naturalsaffronextract.com
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 10:00:07

    Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from
    somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog
    jump out. Please let me know where you got your theme. Appreciate it

    Reply

  12. winston cigarettes ingredients
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 16:36:31

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted at this website is
    actually fastidious.

    Reply

  13. how to get rid of man boobs
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 17:12:00

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your
    rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent
    post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

    Reply

  14. hdpvr
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 00:38:13

    Just wish to say your article is as astonishing. The
    clarity in your post is just spectacular and i could assume
    you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to
    grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying work.

    Reply

  15. Monty
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 06:11:53

    I have read so many articles or reviews on the topic of
    the blogger lovers however this article is really a good piece of writing, keep it up.

    Reply

  16. diablo 3 gold farming
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 16:41:34

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many thanks, However I am going through issues
    with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I can’t subscribe to it.

    Is there anyone else getting identical RSS problems? Anybody
    who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

    Reply

  17. best instant camera
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 17:56:09

    Wonderful website. A lot of helpful info here.
    I am sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And obviously, thank you to your effort!

    Reply

  18. Lucky Strike Cigarettes For Sale
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 18:56:27

    Fabulous, what a website it is! This website gives valuable facts to us, keep it up.

    Reply

  19. Marie Vongunten
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 05:50:32

    Hello friends, its wonderful paragraph regarding tutoringand fully defined, keep
    it up all the time.

    Reply

  20. tattoo ideas
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 08:11:45

    Keep this going please, great job!

    Reply

  21. Marguerite
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 12:36:02

    Valuable information. Fortunate me I discovered your web
    site by accident, and I’m shocked why this coincidence didn’t happened in
    advance! I bookmarked it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

